Construction

Image retrieved

Do we miss people for who they are or for who we’ve built them up to be?

I’ve built you up in my head
You are who you were 10 years ago, perhaps unchanged
I hear your voice on the phone, with the daily phone calls.
I hear you utter my name, the name only you will call.
The name they didn’t know.

I’ve built you up in my heart
You are who you were 10 years ago, perhaps unchanged
You hopped off the bus grinning, and walked alongside me
You would have done anything, I would have done everything
So much they didn’t know.

What I’ve built came crumbling down.
I know in my heart how much we’ve changed, it couldn’t be helped.
I see us walk the same pace, but to different places.
I see us write the same words, but for another purpose
Time made fools of us

What I’ve built came crumbling down
I know in my heart how much we’ve changed, it couldn’t be helped.
Our follies we couldn’t take them back, our pride we let control
We could have done everything, we didn’t do anything.
We made fools of us.

I’ve built you up in my heart
What I’ve built came crumbling down.
I know in my heart how much we’ve changed, it couldn’t be helped.
I will remember who you were 10 years ago
We made fools of us
But such glorious fools we were.
I’ve kept us.

Leave a Reply

